Honorary Committee members support the achievement of our 70th Anniversary and pay tribute to Barry W. Lynn’s 25 years of service to Americans United.   


Nan Aron, President, Alliance for Justice

Robyn Blumner, President and CEO, Center for Inquiry

Bishop Minerva G. Carcaño, San Francisco Area, The United Methodist Church

Rea Carey, Executive Director, National LGBTQ Task Force 

Congressman Steve Cohen (Tenn.)

Stosh Cotler, CEO, Bend the Arc Jewish Action

John de Lancie,  Actor

Morris Dees, Founder and Chief Trial Counsel, Southern Poverty Law Center

The Rev. Dr. John C. Dorhauer, General Minister and President, United Church of Christ

Lily Eskelsen García, President, National Education Association

Mike Farrell, Actor; President of Death Penalty Focus 

Gloria Feldt, Co-founder of Take the Lead; former CEO and President of Planned Parenthood Federation of America

The Rev. Selena Fox, Wiccan Priestess and Senior Minister, Circle Sanctuary

Senator Al Franken (Minn.)

John Fugelsang, Comedian and Broadcaster

Kim Gandy, President and CEO, National Network to End Domestic Violence

Fatima Goss Graves,CEO and President, National Women’s Law Center

Linda Greenhouse, Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence and Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law, Yale Law School

Dr. Morton H. Halperin, Senior Advisor, Open Society Foundations 

The Rev. Jimmie Hawkins, Director, Office of Public Witness, Presbyterian Church (USA)

Wade Henderson, Immediate Past President,
The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

Cheryl Kagan, Maryland State Senator

Mara Keisling, Executive Director, National Center for Transgender Equality

Congressman Joe Kennedy III (Mass.)

Farhana Khera, President and Executive Director, Muslim Advocates

Michael Lieberman, Washington Counsel, Anti-Defamation League

Rich Madaleno, Maryland State Senator

Dr. Kenneth R. Miller, Professor of Biology and Royce Family Professor for Teaching Excellence, Brown University

Matthew Modine, Actor/Director 

Rabbi Jack Moline, President, Interfaith Alliance

Sammie Moshenberg, Consultant and former Director of Washington Operations, National Council of Jewish Women

Congressman Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.)

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D.C.)

Robert M. O'Neil, Director, Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression; President Emeritus, University of Virginia

Terry O'Neill, Immediate Past President, National Organization for Women

Rabbi Jonah Dov Pesner, Director, Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism

Bill Press, Host, The Bill Press Show

Congressman Jamie Raskin (Md.)

Ann Reid, Executive Director, National Center for Science Education

Cecile Richards, President of Planned Parenthood Federation of America and the Planned Parenthood Action Fund

Bishop Gene Robinson, Emeritus of the Episcopal Diocese of New Hampshire

Anthony D. Romero, Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union

Rabbi David Saperstein, Director Emeritus, Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism

Dr. Ellery Schempp, student in landmark 1963 U.S. Supreme Court decision Abington School District v. Schempp

Congressman Bobby Scott (Va.)

Hilary O. Shelton, Director of the NAACP Washington Bureau; Senior Vice President of Policy and Advocacy, NAACP

Suhag Shukla, Esq., Executive Director, Hindu American Foundation

Sarah Silverman, Comedian/Writer

Eleanor Smeal, President, Feminist Majority Foundation

Roy Speckhardt, Executive Director, American Humanist Association

J. Brent Walker, Executive Consultant and Immediate Past Executive Director, Baptist Joint Committee for Religious Liberty

Dar Williams, Singer-Songwriter

Jim Winkler, President and General Secretary, National Council of Churches

*Honorary Committee Members Have Been Invited But May Not Be Available To Attend


© 2017 Americans United for Separation Of Church And State